Influenza Update and Sick Policy Reminder

292

Dear SSIS Parents,

Cases of influenza (flu) have been officially confirmed at SSIS. To minimize the risk of spreading the flu in our community and to ensure that sick students have a safe and speedy recovery, please take note of the following information.

Students with flu-like symptoms (cough, shortness of breath, nasal congestion, body aches, fatigue) must stay home until they have been symptom-free for 48 hours. 

For more information about influenza, including common symptoms and healthcare tips, please review this Influenza Fact Sheet. As always, please consult a doctor if you are concerned about your child’s symptoms.

We would also like to remind you that any student or staff member with a temperature of 37.8˚ Celsius or higher is not permitted on campus. They must stay at home until they are fever-free for 48 hours (without taking fever-reducing medication). Students or staff who are vomiting or have diarrhea must stay off campus until they have been symptom-free for 24 hours.

Please refer to the SSIS Health Office Handbook for our policies regarding Covid and other illnesses.

For any health-related questions or concerns, please contact your medical provider or call International SOS at (028) 3829 8520.

Reporting Your Child Absent

If your child will be absent from school for any illness, please notify your child’s divisional office as well as the divisional nursing office to report your child’s symptoms:

ES Office: esoffice@ssis.edu.vn 028 54130901 ext: 21190 or 21191
ES Nurse: esnurse@ssis.edu.vn 028 54130901 ext: 11070

MS Office: msoffice@ssis.edu.vn 028 54130901 ext: 12005
MS Nurse: msnurse@ssis.edu.vn 028 54130901 ext: 11071

HS Office: hsoffice@ssis.edu.vn 028 54130901 ext: 33080 or 33081
HS Nurse: hsnurse@ssis.edu.vn 028 54130901 ext: 31001

If your child’s illness causes them to be absent for more than three (3) days, the school may require a medical provider’s note.

Sincerely,

Nicol Stevens
SSIS Health Office Manager